Would you like to stay up-to-date on staffing trends and news from the comfort of your mobile phone? Welcome to WurkNow’s Staffing Compliance Monthly Roundup, a compilation of news, blogs, and updates relevant to the staffing industry. Here are some top highlights from the past month.
Pittsburgh Paid Sick Day Act Starts March 15
Business owners in Pittsburgh have only a few days left before the city’s newest ordinance takes effect. Starting this March 15, all Pittsburgh employers must provide eligible employees with paid sick time off to care for themselves or a family member. As stated in the “Pittsburgh Paid Sick Days Act” employees will gain an hour of sick time for every 35 hours that an employee works within the city’s boundaries. Although the ordinance was already passed in 2015, the Supreme Court did not uphold it until June last year.
FULL STORY: The National Law Review
Governor plans to change California Leave Laws
Last year, Governor Gavin Newsom signed a number of new employment laws such as the New Employee Classification Test or AB 5. This year, Gov. Newsom has his eyes set on amending two very important job-protected leaves of absence for employees, specifically the “Pregnancy Disability Leave Law” and “California Family Rights Act.” The PDDL requires employers to provide up to 4 months of unpaid job-protected leave. The CFRA allows employees to take 12 weeks off in a year due to the birth of a child or if there is a family member who needs their assistance due to a serious health condition. Both these laws have restrictions depending on the size of a company. When the amendments are passed, the law will apply to all businesses regardless of how many employees they have.
FULL STORY: JacksonLewis
Key Updates for California Employee Handbooks
Employment laws are constantly changing and not just in California. Which is why it’s important for everyone to keep up! What are three key updates to employment laws in California that should be in your employee handbook right now? The passing of SB 188 made way for California to be one of the first states to ban race-based hair discrimination. The definition of “race” is expanded to include traits historically associated with someone’s race such as hair texture and protective hairstyles like braids and locks. On the other hand, SB 142 requires employers to accommodate a break time and location for employees to express breastmilk. Out of sick leave but need to donate an organ? Don’t sweat because a new update has you covered! AB 1223 obligates an employer to grant an employee who will be donating their organ a leave of absence with pay not exceeding 30 days for the year if their paid sick leave has been exhausted.
FULL STORY: SHRM
Sacramento, CA Mandates Panic Buttons For Hotel Workers
Following the rise of the #MeToo movement, some states have explored taking extra measures to protect their staff from sexual harassment or assault. New Jersey for example, mandated hotels to provide panic buttons for room cleaners. This year, Sacramento followed suit by passing AB 1761 which mandates all 80 hotels within the city to have panic buttons as well. This mandate will take effect on July 14, 2020. Once it takes effect and panic buttons are installed, workers are able to signal for help when they witness an act of sexual harassment. The buttons will send a signal to an on-site staff member to intervene.
FULL STORY: JD Supra
Colorado Employers Face Wage And Hour Laws
Attention Colorado business owners, changes to wage and hour laws are on their way in 2020. Specifically, the changes related to employee coverage, minimum salary threshold, and expanded break rights are set to take effect. Previously, employee coverage only applied to certain industries such as retail, commercial support, and medical industries. After March 16, exemptions will apply to almost all employees regardless of the industry. The minimum salary threshold for exempt employees will also change. Starting July 1, the minimum threshold will be $35,568. Finally, the extended break rights serve to protect employees from the harmful effects of working long hours. Once this law takes effect, employers will be mandated to give 2 rest periods for employees who work 6-10 hours and up to 6 rest periods for those who work 22 hours.
FULL STORY: JD SUPRA